Matthew Emmons-US PRESSWIRE

Alabama Football: Barrett Jones Named Outland Trophy Finalist

Alabama Crimson Tide center Barrett Jones has been named one of three finalists for the Outland Trophy. The finalists were announced by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) on Monday.

Jones won the award in 2011 as an offensive tackle, and would be only the second player in the award’s history to win it twice. Nebraska center Dave Rimington claimed back-to-back Outland Trophies in 1981 and ’82.

From the FWAA press release:

Jones, who followed previous Alabama Outland Trophy winners, offensive tackles Chris Samuels (1999) and Andre Smith (2008), as the 2011 winner, is one of the most versatile and productive linemen in college football. He has played guard, tackle and center on two national championship teams at Alabama. The 6-5, 302-pound senior from Germantown, Tenn., is also a finalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy, the “Academic Heisman” that is presented by the National Football Foundation.

The Outland Trophy is awarded each year to the best interior lineman in college football. The other finalists are Texas A&M offensive tackle Luke Joeckel or North Carolina guard Jonathan Cooper.

This year’s winner will be revealed on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing live from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney’s BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort on Thursday, Dec. 6 at 7:30 p.m. ET.

Tags: Alabama Crimson Tide Football

comments powered by Disqus