BamaHammer Players Championship Round 2: Mark Ingram (1) vs. Lee Roy Jordan (4)

Another week, another classic matchup in our offseason tournament to crown the greatest Alabama Crimson Tide football player of all time. This week’s pairing pits a Tide legend against the Capstone’s first Heisman winner.

Saban Division – RBs vs. Linebackers


Mark Ingram (2008-2010)

Running Back – Flint, Michigan
5’ 9’’, 215 lbs
Career Statistics: 3261 Rushing Yards, 670 Passing Yards, 46 Total TDs

Mark Ingram Jr. was verbally committed to Michigan State in early 2008, but fortunately for Tide fans, he decided to sign with the University of Alabama. The rest, of course, is history. Mark Ingram holds the proud distinction of being the only player in the University of Alabama’s storied history to win the Heisman Trophy.

There were many great signature moments for Ingram; the most notable was the screen play against Florida in the 2009 SEC Championship Game that set up a touchdown, as well as the South Carolina game that year, where he exploded for 246 yards running the Wildcat offense. That year, he broke Bobby Humphrey’s Alabama single-season record of 1,542 rushing yards.

Ingram played three seasons at Alabama; he backed up Glen Coffee in 2008 as Alabama went undefeated in the regular season, picking up Freshman All-SEC honors. In 2009, he helped lead the Crimson Tide to its’ 13th national championship over Texas. That season, along with his Heisman Trophy, he was a consensus All-American, as well as the SEC Offensive Player of the Year.

Lee Roy Jordan (1960-1962)

Linebacker  – Excel, AL.

Lee Roy Jordan was considered one of the best middle linebackers in Alabama history. He was a two-way player for the Tide, as he also played center. He finished 4th in the Heisman Trophy voting in 1962, and was selected to the All-America Team twice in his college career. Jordan was inducted into the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame in 1980.

Jordan was named the MVP of the BlueBonnet bowl after a 3-3 tie against the Longhorns of Texas. His second bowl game MVP came against Oklahoma in the 1963 Orange Bowl, where he had an astounding 31 tackles. He garnered much praise from Paul “Bear” Bryant, and he was quoted as saying, “He was one of the finest football players the world has ever seen.”

Jordan was named the Player of the Decade for the 1960’s, and was eventually inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1983. Lee Roy was selected in the first round of the 1963 NFL Draft by the Dallas Cowboys, where he played for 14 years and was a Pro Bowler five times. Lee Roy Jordan remains one of the great impact players of the golden age of Crimson Tide football.

Which player advances to the next round?

  • Lee Roy Jordan (55%, 52 Votes)
  • Mark Ingram (45%, 42 Votes)

Total Voters: 94

Loading ... Loading ...

Next Crimson Tide Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Nov 88 Nov3:30at LSU TigersBuy Tickets

Tags: Alabama Crimson Tide Football

comments powered by Disqus