BamaHammer Players Champion: Derrick Thomas

Derrick Thomas has not made the College Football Hall of Fame, but the late great linebacker for the Alabama Crimson Tide and Kansas City Chiefs now has another honor to his name.

The readers of BamaHammer have voted Thomas the greatest Alabama football player of all time, advancing him past Barrett Jones in the finals of our summer-long tournament.

Thomas was a leader of the Alabama defense, and rang up an amazing career at the Capston before going on to legendary success with the Chiefs. Among his accomplishments at Alabama:

  • 1988 SEC Defensive Player of the Year
  • 1988 Consensus All-America
  • 1988 Dick Butkus Award
  • 74 career tackles for loss, 39 in 1988
  • Seven career blocked kicks

In addition, Thomas had an amazing 27 sacks in 1988; an NCAA record that stands today.

The tournament comprised 64 of the greatest Crimson Tide players of all time, as selected by the editors of BamaHammer, and voted on by the fans in a four sixteen-player divisions.

In winning the tournament, Thomas outpolled Wilbur Jackson, Johnny Musso, Cornelius Bennett, Lee Roy Jordan and AJ McCarron before defeating Jones in the finals.

Here is the final bracket:

Next Crimson Tide Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Oct 2525 Oct7:15at Tennessee VolunteersBuy Tickets

Tags: Alabama Crimson Tide Football

comments powered by Disqus