Nov 23, 2013; Tuscaloosa, AL, USA; Alabama Crimson Tide quarterback A.J. McCarron (10) celebrates by making a victory lap around the stadium after their 49-0 win over the Chattanooga Mocs at Bryant-Denny Stadium. This was McCarron

AJ McCarron Named Heisman Trophy Finalist

Alabama senior quarterback AJ McCarron was named one of the six Heisman trophy finalists on Monday.

McCarron will join Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston, Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, Auburn running back Tre Mason and Boston College running Andre Williams in New York City for the trophy presentation on December 14th. ESPN’s coverage of the event begins at 7:00 PM (central).

McCarron was also named the 2013 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award winner, along with being named one of Alabama’s permanent team captains and the Offensive MVP of the team as well as an AP All SEC Honorable Mention.

Former Alabama running back Mark Ingram is the only Alabama player to win the award, back in 2009. In 2011 Trent Richardson was also named a finalist for the award.

Dick's Sporting Goods presents "Hell Week":

Tags: Alabama Crimson Tide Football

  • tideman89

    Congratulations to AJ, he deserves to be there. Others may have more flashy stats, but no one has more championships.

  • Greg Duke

    Tideman89: I could not say it any better. AJ is as good a ‘game manager’ as Tom Brady. Look how well the 199th overall pick has done in the NFL! AJ, you have been a role model, a standup guy, great QB, and, fantastic leader for our team. You will be missed. Roll Tide.

  • Mary Waltman

    Congratulations AJ….you deserve it….