Alabama Football: National Championship Club Top 10 CFB Programs

(Photo by Alika Jenner/Getty Images)
(Photo by Alika Jenner/Getty Images) /
5 of 10
Alabama Football
(Photo by Steven Branscombe/Getty Images) /

Alabama Football: Top Ten National Championship Club

No. 7 (tie) – Nebraska Cornhuskers

Five Nebraska National Championships

The 1990s trio of National Championships listed below should also be considered a College Football Dynasty.

  • 1970 – Bob Devaney led the Cornhuskers to an 11-0 season, concluding with an Orange Bowl victory over LSU.
  • 1971 – Another Devaney led Huskers’ team compiled an undefeated 13-0 record. Many Alabama football fans remember how that season ended. Nebraska beat the Crimson Tide, 38-6 in the Orange Bowl.
  • 1994 – The first of Tom Osborne’s undefeated Nebraska seasons had a 13-0 record, ending with a victory over Miami in the Orange Bowl.
  • 1995 – It was a repeat Championship for the Huskers and Osborne. It was also another undefeated season at 12-0, ending with an Orange Bowl defeat of Miami.
  • 1997 – The Cornhuskers slipped to two losses in the 1996 season. 1997 was another undefeated season at 13-0, with a closing win over Tennessee in the Fiesta Bowl.

No. 7 (tie) – Miami Hurricanes

Five Miami National Championships

Four of the five Miami National Championships came during an amazing nine-season run from 1983 through 1991.

  • 1983 – Howard Schnellenberger built Miami into National Champions. In 1983, in the last of Schnellenberrger’s five Hurricanes’ seasons, his team was 11-1. The Canes beat Nebraska in the Orange Bowl
  • 1987 – Jimmy Johnson’s teams from 1986-1988 posted a record of 44-7. His 1987 National Championship team was 12-0 with a win over Oklahoma in the Orange Bowl.
  • 1989 – Dennis Erickson got his first Miami National Championship in an 11-1 season, beating the Alabama Crimson Tide in the Sugar Bowl.
  • 1991 – It was another Erickson team in 1991, now a member of the Big East, gaining another National Championship with a 12-0 record, including an Orange Bowl defeat of  Nebraska.
  • 2001 – Larry Coker won the last of Miami’s National Championships in 2002. His 12-0 team beat Nebraska in the BCS Championship game.