Alabama Crimson Tide Leads 2013 All-SEC Team

Jan 7, 2013; Miami, FL, USA; Alabama Crimson Tide linebacker C.J. Mosley (32) celebrates with the Coaches Trophy after the 2013 BCS Championship game against the Notre Dame Fighting Irish at Sun Life Stadium. Alabama won 42-14. Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

The 2013 preseason All-SEC teams were released on Thursday, and the Alabama Crimson Tide featured 16 players on the three teams. Alabama had the most first team selections this year with seven. With 231 votes, Alabama linebacker CJ Mosley had the most votes of any player, besting South Carolina’s Jadeveon Clowney and Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M.

The media also selected Alabama to win the SEC Championship, which isn’t necessarily a good thing as the media has only correctly predicted the eventual SEC Championship four times.

Number of votes for each athlete in parenthesis.



QB: Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M (119)

RB: TJ Yeldon, Alabama (221)

RB: Todd Gurley, Georgia (206)
WR: Amari Cooper, Alabama (194)
WR: Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt (106)
OL: Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama (193)
OL: Jake Matthews, Texas A&M (176)
OL: Anthony Steen, Alabama (109)
OL: Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State (88)
C: Travis Swanson, Arkansas (92)
TE: Arthur Lynch, Georgia (148)


DL: Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina (223)
DL: Dominique Easley, Florida (162)
DL: Anthony Johnson, LSU (127)
DL: Chris Smith, Arkansas (56)
LB: CJ Mosley, Alabama (231)
LB: AJ Johnson, Tennessee (107)
LB: Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss (94)
DB: HaHa Clinton-Dix, Alabama (203)
DB: Craig Loston, LSU (135)
DB: Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida (117)
DB: Deion Belue, Alabama (77)


P: Kyle Christy, Florida (108)
PK: Carey Spear, Vanderbilt (100)
KR: Odell Beckham Jr., LSU (74)
AP: Bruce Ellington, South Carolina (69)



QB: AJ McCarron, Alabama (67)
RB: Tre Mason, Auburn (15)
RB: LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State (12)
RB: Keith Marshall, Georgia (12)
WR: Donte Moncrief, Ole Miss (46)
WR: Mike Evans, Texas A&M (33)
OL: Antonio Richardson, Tennessee (76)
OL: Jon Halapio, Florida (51)
OL: Chris Burnette, Georgia (50)
OL: Ja’Wuan James, Tennessee (50)
C: Reese Dismukes, Auburn (33)
TE: Rory Anderson, South Carolina (33)


DL: Xzavier Dickson, Alabama (49)
DL: Ed Stinson, Alabama (39)
DL: Dee Ford, Auburn (38)
DL: Jeoffrey Pagan, Alabama (31)
LB: Adrian Hubbard, Alabama (66)
LB: Jordan Jenkins, Georgia (64)
LB: Lamin Barrow, LSU (29)
DB: Damian Swann, Georgia (70)
DB: Andre Hal, Vanderbilt (69)
DB: Marcus Roberson, Florida (50)
DB: Vinnie Sunseri, Alabama (36)


P: Cody Mandell, Alabama (54)
K: Cody Parker, Auburn (71)
KR: Bruce Ellington, South Carolina (62)
AP: Odell Beckham Jr., LSU (44)



QB: Aaron Murray, Georgia (52)
RB: Matt Jones, Florida (5)
RB: Jeff Scott, Ole Miss (5)
RB: Alfred Blue, LSU (5)
WR: Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia (28)
WR: Jarvis Landry, LSU (19)
OL: La’el Collins, LSU (30)
OL: Josh Williford, LSU (30)
OL: Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt (18)
OL: AJ Cann, South Carolina (14)
OL: Zach Fulton, Tennessee (14)
C: James Stone, Tennessee (30)
C: Jonotthan Harrison, Florida (30)
TE: Brian Vogler, Alabama (18)


DL: Garrison Smith, Georgia (26)
DL: Daniel McCuller, Tennessee (23)
DL: Alvin Dupree, Kentucky (23)
DL: CJ Johnson, Ole Miss (22)
LB: Ronald Powell, Florida (24)
LB: Tahj Jones, LSU (20)
LB: Trey DePriest, Alabama (16)
LB: Avery Williamson, Kentucky (16)
DB: EJ Gaines, Missouri (34)
DB: Charles Sawyer, Ole Miss (25)
DB: Jalen Mills, LSU (22)
DB: Chris Davis, Auburn (20)


P: Steven Clark, Auburn (33)
K: Zach Hocker, Arkansas (39)
KR: Andre Debose, Florida (53)
AP: Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida (36)

The predicted order of finish is below (fist place votes in parenthesis):


1) Alabama (182)
2) Georgia (38)
3) South Carolina (18)
4) Texas A&M (4)
5) LSU (1)


1) Georgia (149)
2) South Carolina (75)
3) Florida (19)
4) Vanderbilt
5) Tennessee
6) Missouri
7) Kentucky


1) Alabama (225)
2) Texas A&M (11)
3) LSU (7)
4) Ole Miss
5) Auburn
6) Mississippi State
7) Arkansas

Topics: Alabama Crimson Tide, Football

Want more from Bama Hammer?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.