2015 Alabama Crimson Tide Position by Position Breakdown

8 of 8

Jan 1, 2015; New Orleans, LA, USA; Alabama Crimson Tide punter JK Scott (15) kicks during the first quarter in the 2015 Sugar Bowl against the Ohio State Buckeyes at Mercedes-Benz Superdome. Mandatory Credit: Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

– Key Departures: MK Taylor (graduation), Christion Jones (graduation)
– Key Returners: JK Scott (sophomore), Adam Griffith (junior), Cyrus Jones (senior), Cole Mazza (junior)
– Key Newcomers: Chris Black (junior)

JK Scott may be the best player at his position in the entire country and considering he was a finalist for the Ray Guy Award, presented to the best punter in the country, as a true freshmen it is hard to argue that either. Scott was simply magnificent last season and it is scary to say that he is only a sophomore and likely still will get better. He should be a shoe-in to return to New York as a finalist for the Ray Guy Award yet again this year.

Kicker Adam Griffith is one of the most talented kickers Saban has ever recruited but last season a stress fracture in his back led to a ton of inconsistencies and a lot of frustrated Crimson Tide fans. Griffith is healthy again and after a strong spring plans to have a much better 2015.

Christion Jones handled the majority of the return duties on special teams the past two seasons and with his graduation a ton of experience left with him. Cornerback Cyrus Jones has excelled as a punt returner in his limited opportunities but due to his responsibilities on defense he may not be called on to be the full time punt/kick returner for Alabama. Saban allowed Javier Arenas to pull double duties in that spot but not many since he has done that. Chris Black is the most likely other option as a returner with his elusiveness and speed he could end up being one of the better return men Alabama has seen. ArDarius Stewart and Marlon Humphrey both have kick return experience and could be other options.

QB: #14 Jacob Coker (SR)
RB: #2 Derrick Henry (JR)
FB: #46 Michael Nysewander (SR)
LT: #74 Cam Robinson (SO)
LG: #71 Ross Pierschbacher (FR)
C: #70 Ryan Kelly (SR)
RG: #75 Bradley Bozeman (SO)
RT: #76 Dominick Jackson (SR)
WR: #8 Robert Foster (SO)
WR: #1 Chris Black (JR)/#13 ArDarius Stewart (SO)
TE: #88 OJ Howard

DE: #93 Jonathan Allen (JR)
NT: #86 A’Shawn Robinson (JR)
DE: #90 Jarran Reed (SR)
JACK: #7 Ryan Anderson (JR)
WILL: #19 Reggie Ragland (SR)
MIKE: #10 Reuben Foster (JR)
SAM: #30 Denzel Devall (SR)
CB: #5 Cyrus Jones (SR)
CB: #2 Tony Brown (SO)
SS: #4 Eddie Jackson (JR)
FS: #24 Geno Smith (SR)
STAR: #21 Maurice Smith (JR)

K: #99 Adam Griffith (JR)
P: #15 JK Scott (SO)
KR: #1 Chris Black (JR)/#5 Cyrus Jones (SR)
PR: #5 Cyrus Jones (SR)