Alabama Football: No question Tide-Saban Dynasty the greatest ever

ATLANTA, GA - JANUARY 08: DeVonta Smith
ATLANTA, GA - JANUARY 08: DeVonta Smith /
4 of 5
Alabama football and USC had lots of history in the 1970's
ARLINGTON, TX – DECEMBER 29: The USC Trojans cheerleaders during the Goodyear Cotton Bowl (Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images) /


Southern Cal Dynasty (1962-1979) Five National Championships

The Trojans under Bear Bryant’s good friend, John McKay and later John Robinson come close to matching the Alabama-Saban dynasty. What separates the accomplishments of the two programs are the national championship spans. It took Southern Cal 17 seasons to win five national championships. Alabama, under Nick Saban, has done it in nine seasons.

USC was named national champion by major selectors in 1962, 1967, 1972, 1974 and 1978. Other selectors chose USC in 1976 and 1979.


Miami Dynasty (1983-1992) Four National Championships

Many Alabama football fans remember this Miami glory period well. The Crimson Tide ended it with its own national championship in 1992.

The Hurricanes were named national champions by major selectors in 1983, 1987, 1989 and 1991. Other selectors chose Miami in 1986, 1988 and 1990.

After some average seasons in the mid-1990’s including one losing season, the Canes regained lost glory in the early 2000’s. Miami earned a major selector (BCS) national championship in 2001. Other selectors also chose Miami in 2000.