Alabama Football: National Championship Club Top 10 CFB Programs

(Photo by Alika Jenner/Getty Images)
(Photo by Alika Jenner/Getty Images) /
6 of 10
Alabama Football
(Photo by Carmen Mandato/Getty Images) /

Alabama Football: Top Ten National Championship Club

No. 6 – Minnesota Gophers

Six Minnesota National Championships

Next to Nick Saban and Alabama football, Bernie Bierman and the Minnesota Gophers have the most impressive Championship run in college football history. Many Minnesota fans would argue the Bierman seasons were equal to Saban and the Crimson Tide. Bierman’s Gophers, in eight seasons from 1934 through 1941, lost only nine games. Four of the losses came in the 1939 season.

  • 1934 – Undefeated at 8-0 with a closing win over Wisconsin.
  • 1935 – The Gophers matched the 1934 season with another Championship.
  • 1936 – The only season with a loss in Bierman’s five National Championship seasons with the Gophers going 7-1.
  • 1940 – Coming back from a losing season in 1939, Minnesota was 8-0.
  • 1941 – Another 8-0 season and another repeat National Championship.
  • 1960 – Under Head Coach, Murray Warmath the Gophers were 8-2, losing to Washington in the Rose Bowl.

No. 5 – Oklahoma Sooners

Seven National Championships take the Oklahoma Sooners to No. 5 on our list. Bud Wilkinson’s teams in the 1950s were arguably the best of the decade. It took Barry Switzer longer to match Wilkinson’s three National Champions. Bob Stoops, often criticized for big game losses, prevailed for a 2000 Championship.

  • 1950 – Wilkinson’s first National Championship team was 10-1. The Sooners lost to Bear Bryant’s Kentucky team in the Sugar Bowl after Bryant had pledged to the bowl’s representatives a Wildcats upset victory.
  • 1955 – At 11-0, the undefeated Sooners beat Maryland in the Orange Bowl.
  • 1956 – Another undefeated Sooners’ season at 10-0, closing with a win over Oklahoma State.
  • 1974 – Switzer’s first Championship was an 11-0 season, closing with a win over Oklahoma State.
  • 1975 – At 11-1, the Sooners got a back-to-back, beating Michigan in the Orange Bowl.
  • 1985 – The 11-1 Sooners at No. 3 faced No. 1 Penn State in the Orange Bowl. It was Switzer’s last Championship title.
  • 2000 – Bob Stoops’ team was 13-0 with a win over FSU in the BCS Championship.