Alabama Football: What the coach voted, pre-season All-SEC teams tell us

(Photo by Jonathan Bachman/Getty Images)
(Photo by Jonathan Bachman/Getty Images) /

Alabama football led the way in the All-SEC Pre-Season Teams, selected by the league’s coaches.

Who knows more, between  Alabama football fans, media experts and SEC coaches? When the subject is best players across the Southeastern Conference, deferring to the coaches is sound. Fans struggle with being objective. Most media members know a good bit about one or maybe a few teams, but not all teams.

To the extent a pre-season All-SEC Team ranking is a good predictor, SEC coaches are the best source. Rules prohibit any coach voting for their own players.

Due to ties in the voting, 89 positions were selected. Those positions were filled by 81 different SEC players. Alabama Crimson Tide, explosive junior, Jaylen Waddle was voted as a first-team wide receiver, first-team all-purpose and first -team return specialist. Other SEC players with multiple selections were Derrick Stingley (LSU), Jerrion Ealy (Ole Miss), Landon Dickerson (Alabama), and Christian Tutt (Auburn).

The Alabama Crimson Tide had six players selected to the first-team offense. No other SEC program had more than two players selected. The Tide had three more offensive selections (two more players) combined on the second and third-team.

All-SEC First Team Offense

  • Quarterback: Kyle Trask, Florida Gators
  • Running Back:  Najee Harris, Alabama Crimson Tide
  • Running Back: Kylin Hill, Mississippi State Bulldogs
  • Wide Receiver: DeVonta Smith, Alabama Crimson Tide
  • Wide Receiver: Jaylen Waddle, Alabama Crimson Tide
  • Tight End: Kyle Pitts, Florida Gators
  • Offensive Line: Alex Leatherwood, Alabama Crimson Tide
  • Offensive Line: Trey Smith, Tennessee Vols
  • Offensive Line: Darian Kinnard, Kentucky Wildcats
  • Offensive Line: Landon Dickerson, Alabama Crimson Tide
  • Center: Drake Jackson, Kentucky Wildcats
  • All-Purpose: Jaylen Waddle, Alabama Crimson Tide

All-SEC Second Team Offense

  • Quarterback: Kellen Mond, Texas A&M Aggies
  • Running Back: Rakeem Boyd, Arkansas Razorbacks
  • Running Back: Isaiah Spiller, Texas A&M Aggies
  • Wide Receiver: George Pickens, Georgia Bulldogs
  • Wide Receiver: Terrace Marshall, LSU Tigers
  • Tight End: Jalen Wydermyer, Texas A&M Aggies
  • Offensive Line: Sadarius Hutcherson, South Carolina Gamecocks
  • Offensive Line: Deonte Brown, Alabama Crimson Tide
  • Offensive Line:  Landon Young, Kentucky Wildcats
  • Offensive Line: Austin Deculus, LSU Tigers (tie)
  • Offensive Line: Brodarious Hamm, Auburn Tigers (tie)
  • Offensive Line: Wanya Morris, Tennessee Vols (tie)
  • Offensive Line: Ed Ingram, LSU Tigers (tie)
  • Center: Trey Hill, Georgia Bulldogs
  • All-Purpose: All-Purpose: Derek Stingley, LSU Tigers

All-SEC Third Team Offense

  • Quarterback: Bo Nix, Auburn Tigers
  • Running Back: Jerrion Ealy, Ole Miss Rebels
  • Running Back: Larry Rountree, Missouri Tigers
  • Wide Receiver: Seth Williams, Auburn Tigers
  • Wide Receiver:  Elijah Moore, Ole Miss Rebels
  • Tight End: Arik Gilbert, LSU Tigers
  • Offensive Line: Carson Green, Texas A&M Aggies
  • Offensive Line: Kenyon Green, Texas A&M Aggies
  • Offensive Line: Evan Neal, Alabama Crimson Tide
  • Offensive Line: Dan Moore, Texas A&M Aggies
  • Center: Landon Dickerson, Alabama Crimson Tide
  • All-Purpose: Jerrion Ealy, Ole Miss Rebels (tie)
  • All-Purpose: Purpose: Kadarious Toney, Florida Gators (tie)
  • All-Purpose: Christian Tutt, Auburn Tigers (tie)

The Crimson Tide numbers were not quite as impressive on defense. The Tide still led the conference with three players selected for the first-team defense. No other SEC program had more than two.

All-SEC First Team Defense

DL: Bobby Brown, Texas A&M Aggies
DL: LaBryan Ray, Alabama Crimson Tide
DL: Big Kat Bryant, Auburn Tigers
DL: Jordan Davis, Georgia Bulldogs
LB: Dylan Moses, Alabama Crimson Tide
LB: K.J. Britt, Auburn Tigers
LB: Nick Bolton, Missouri Tigers
DB: Patrick Surtain II, Alabama Crimson Tide
DB: Derek Stingley, LSU Tigers
DB: Richard LeCounte, Georgia Bulldogs
DB: Jacoby Stevens, LSU Tigers

All-SEC Second Team Defense

  • Defensive Line: Kobie Whiteside, Missouri Tigers
  • Defensive Line: Malik Herring, Georgia Bulldogs
  • Defensive Line: Aaron Sterling, South Carolina
  • Defensive Line: Dayo Odeyingbo, Vanderbilt Commodores
  • Linebacker: Henry To’o To’o, Tennessee Vols
  • Linebacker: Monty Rice, Georgia Bulldogs
  • Linebacker: Erroll Thompson, Mississippi State Bulldogs (tie)
  • Linebacker: Nakobe Dean, Georgia Bulldogs (tie)
  • Linebacker: Ventrell Miller, Florida Gators (tie)
  • Defensive Back: Kaiir Elam, Florida Gators
  • Defensive Back: Eric Stokes, Georgia Bulldogs
  • Defensive Back: Demani Richardson, Texas A&M Aggies
  • Defensive Back: Tyree Gillespie, Missouri Tigers (tie)
  • Defensive Back: Marco Wilson, Florida Gators (tie)
  • Defensive Back: Isreal Mukuamu, South Carolina (tie)

All-SEC Third Team Defense

  • Defensive Line: Zachary Carter, Florida Gators
  • Defensive Line: Josh Paschal, Kentucky Wildcats
  • Defensive Line: Kobe Jones, Mississippi State Bulldogs
  • Defensive Line: Glen Logan, LSU Tigers
  • Linebacker: Boogie Watson, Kentucky Wildcats
  • LInebacker: Dimitri Moore, Vanderbilt Commodores
  • Linebacker:  Nolan Smith, Georgia Bulldogs (tie)
  • Linebacker: Ernest Jones, South Carolina Gamecocks (tie)
  • Linebacker: Andre Mintze, Vanderbilt Commodores (tie)
  • Defensive Back: Jaycee Horn, South Carolina Gamecocks
  • Defensive Back: Bryce Thompson, Tennessee Vols
  • Defensive Back: Yusuf Corker, Kentucky Wildcats
  • Defensive Back: Christian Tutt, Auburn Tigers (tie)
  • Defensive Back: Josh Jobe, Alabama Crimson Tide (tie)

All- SEC First Team Special Teams

  • Placekicker: Brent Cimaglia, Tennessee Vols
  • Punter: Max Duffy, Kentucky Wildcats
  • Return Specialist: Jaylen Waddle, Alabama Crimson Tide

All-SEC Second Team Special Teams

  • Placekicker: Cade York, LSU Tigers
  • Punter: Jake Camarda, Georgia Bulldogs
  • Return Specialist: Jerrion Ealy, Ole Miss Rebels

All-SEC Third Team Special Teams

  • Placekicker: Evan McPherson, Florida Gators
  • Punter: Mac Brown, Ole Miss Rebels
  • Return Specialist: Christian Tutt, Auburn Tigers

Alabama football fans will notice familar names from when they were high school recruits. More than a couple were expected to sign with the Crimson Tide but chose another school. Alabama football signing classes had no room for at least a couple more.

Next. Final Prediction Tide Offense Depth Chart. dark

Were any Alabama football players slighted? What matters more are Tide players wanting to prove the SEC coaches wrong.