Alabama Football: Predicting CFB postseason award winners

Mandatory Credit: Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports
Mandatory Credit: Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports /
1 of 3

Which awards will go to Alabama football players?

With the regular season over and bowl season in progress, it is time to look back on the college football season. This includes postseason awards, and there are plenty of Alabama football players contending for hardware.

While we won’t know for a few more weeks who wins all of these honors, we can still predict which trophies will be shipped to Tuscaloosa. Let’s start with the locks.

Guaranteed winners

Biletnikoff Award: DeVonta Smith

There is zero doubt that Smitty will win the award for the best receiver in college football. He is having a historic season for the Crimson Tide, and it has gotten better with each and every game. Smith will be the second Tide receiver from the 2017 recruiting class to win this award after Jerry Jeudy won it as a sophomore.

Doak Walker Award: Najee Harris

While this is not as much of a lock as the Biletnikoff, I still fully expect Najee to win this award. His competition includes Breece Hall and Travis Etienne. Etienne has struggled all season, and Hall does not have the same spotlight as Harris. Also, Harris has done it all for Alabama football. The senior should come home with the award easily.

Rimington Trophy: Landon Dickerson

Dickerson is one of the best linemen in college football. He brings leadership and talent to the offensive line. While his injury hurts the Tide, he should still come away with the award for the best center in college football.

Let’s now pivot to the likely winners. While all of these awards should go to Alabama football, there is still some tough competition.