Alabama Football: Two Tide legends nominated for CFB Hall of Fame

Brian Bahr /Allsport
Brian Bahr /Allsport /

On Monday, the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame announced the 80 players and nine coaches nominated for the 2023 Hall of Fame class.

Two former Alabama football players were included on the ballot that was emailed to the approximately 12,000 voters who will select the class. The two former Alabama Crimson Tide players are Antonio Langham and Chris Samuels.

There are 13 nominees who played in the SEC, plus one former SEC coach. Tennessee and Florida had the most former players nominated with three each. Five other SEC schools, Arkansas, Auburn, Georgia, LSU and Kentucky had one nominee each.

Alabama Football and other SEC Football 2023 nominees

Note: Player Capsule Bios provided by the NFF and the Hall of Fame

  • Antonio Langham, Alabama-Defensive Back-1993 unanimous First Team All-American and winner of the Jim Thorpe Award…Led Bama to four postseason berths, highlighted by the 1992 National Championship…Three-time All-SEC selection and the Tide’s all-time leader in career INTs (19).
  •  Chris Samuels, Alabama-Offensive Tackle-1999 unanimous First Team All-American and Outland Trophy recipient…Two-time First Team All-SEC selection who led the Tide to a 1999 conference title…SEC Jacobs Blocking Trophy winner who did not allow a sack the entire 1999 season and blocked for 1,000-yard rusher Shaun Alexander.
  • Eric Berry, Tennessee-Defensive Back
  • Gregg Carr, Auburn-Linebacker
  • Tim Couch, Kentucky-Quarterback
  • Brad Culpepper, Florida-Defensive Tackle
  • Willie Gault, Tennessee-Wide Receiver
  • Dan Hampton, Arkansas-Defensive Tackle
  • Garrison Hearst, Georgia-Running Back
  • Bradie James, LSU-Linebacker
  • Errict Rhett, Florida-Running Back
  • Larry Seivers, Tennessee-Wide Receiver
  • Tim Tebow, Florida-Quarterback
  • Mark Richt-Georgia (2001-15), Miami [FL] (2016-18) – Nominated as a coach

According to the NFF, more than 5.5M players have competed since the game’s beginning in the 19th century. From that universe of players, 1,056 players have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Alabama Football is well represented in the Hall of Fame with 21 former Crimson Tide players and five former Alabama Crimson Tide head coaches.

Alabama Crimson Tide in College Hall of Fame

  • Cornelius Bennett – Inducted in 2005
  • Johnny Mack Brown – Inducted in 1957
  • Paul ‘Bear’ Bryant – Inducted in 1986 (Coach)
  • Johnny Cain – Inducted in 1973
  • Sylvester Croom – Inducted in 2022
  • Harry Gilmer – Inducted in 1993
  • John Hannah – Inducted in 1999
  • Frank Howard – Inducted in 1989 (Coach)
  • Dixie Howell – Inducted in 1970
  • Pooley Hubert – Inducted in 1964
  • Don Hutson – Inducted in 1951
  • Lee Roy Jordan – Inducted in 1983
  • E.J. Junior – Inducted in 2020
  • Woodrow Lowe – Inducted in 2009
  • Marty Lyons – Inducted in 2011
  • Vaughn Mancha – Inducted in 1990
  • Johnny Musso – Inducted in 2000
  • Billy Neighbors – Inducted in 2003
  • Ozzie Newsome – Inducted in 1994
  • Fred Sington – Inducted in 1955
  • Riley Smith – Inducted in 1985
  • Gene Stallings – Inducted in 2020 (Coach)
  • Derrick Thomas – Inducted in 2014
  • Frank Thomas – Inducted in 1951 (Coach)
  • Wallace Wade – Inducted in 1955 (Coach)
  • Don Whitmire – Inducted in 1956

Finding another '23 class QB. dark. Next

Two former Alabama football players who should be nominated for the Hall of Fame are Barrett Jones and Leroy Cook.