Alabama Football: No question Tide-Saban Dynasty the greatest ever

ATLANTA, GA - JANUARY 08: DeVonta Smith
ATLANTA, GA - JANUARY 08: DeVonta Smith /
3 of 5
Oklahoma, like Alabama football, has a dynasty legacy
PASADENA, CA – JANUARY 01: A general view as the Oklahoma Sooners take the field in the 2018 College Football Playoff Semifinal Game against the Georgia Bulldogs at the Rose Bowl Game presented by Northwestern Mutual at the Rose Bowl on January 1, 2018 in Pasadena, California. (Photo by Harry How/Getty Images) /


The Oklahoma football achievements under Bud Wilkinson and Barry Switzer are unparalleled in terms of winning percentage and longevity. Between the two coaches, the Sooners could be argued to be the most dominant team in college football from 1948-1987. What keeps the Oklahoma record from being one incredibly long dynastic era are lackluster seasons in the middle of their extraordinary run. From 1960-1970 Oklahoma lost four to seven games in eight separate seasons. As a result, the Sooner dynasties should be separated into two periods.

Oklahoma Dynasty (1948-1957) Three National Championships

From 1948-1957 Bud Wilkinson led Oklahoma to a record of 97 wins, seven losses and two ties. Major selectors chose the Sooners national champions in 1950, 1955 and 1956. Other selectors awarded national championships to Oklahoma in 1949 and 1953.

Oklahoma Dynasty (1971-1987) Three National Championships

Barry Switzer’s Sooner teams were awarded three national championships by major selectors. The first two were back-to-back in 1974 and 1975 and the third came in 1985. Other selectors named the Sooners national champions in 1973, 1978, 1980 and 1986.


Ohio State Dynasty (1954-1970) Four National Championships

The Woody Hayes era was filled with Buckeye glory. Major selectors chose Ohio State as national champion in 1954, 1957, 1961 and 1968. Other selectors picked the Buckeyes in 1969 and 1970.

The Ohio State dynasty is marred by losing seasons in 1959 and 1966.