Alabama Football: No question Tide-Saban Dynasty the greatest ever

ATLANTA, GA - JANUARY 08: DeVonta Smith
ATLANTA, GA - JANUARY 08: DeVonta Smith /
5 of 5
Alabama football wins another national championship
ATLANTA, GA – JANUARY 08: A general view of the stadium as the Alabama Crimson Tide celebrates beating the Georgia Bulldogs in overtime and winning the CFP National Championship (Photo by Mike Zarrilli/Getty Images) /


Just like Oklahoma, a period of poor results requires separating the Bear Bryant era into two dynasties. In 1969 and 1970, Bryant’s teams had ten losses and a tie.

Alabama Dynasty (1961-1966) Three National Championships

Major selectors picked Alabama football as national champion in 1961, 1964 and 1965. One ‘minor’ selector also named the undefeated Crimson Tide national champion in 1966.

Alabama Dynasty (1971-1980) Three National Championships

Major selectors named the Tide national champions in 1973, 1978 and 1979. Other selectors chose the Tide in 1974, 1975 and 1977.

Alabama Dynasty (2008-TBD) Five National Championships

No introduction or explanation is needed. BCS or College Football Playoff national championships in 2009, 2011, 2012, 2015 and 2017, and counting. Five national championships in nine seasons surpass the achievements of all other programs.

The Alabama-Saban Dynasty is already college football’s greatest. And it is ongoing. Alabama football fans justifiably believe more championships will follow before this dynasties’ inevitable conclusion.

Next: 25 Must-Do's for Alabama fans

Winning a national championship is difficult, far more difficult than the current Crimson Tide Dynasty suggests. Another may follow in 2018. But there are no guarantees. Enjoy each one to the fullest, Alabama football fans.